Dogma Added Since Final New Testament

Worship of the saints and angels 375 A.D.

Mass first adopted 394 A.D.

Worship of Mary began to develop 431 A.D.

Priests began to dress differently from laity 500 A.D.

The doctrine of purgatory first taught 593 A.D.

Boniface III gets title of "Universal Bishop" and thus became the first Pope 606 A.D.

Feasts in honor of Virgin Mary begin 650 A.D.

Worship of images and relics authorized 788 A.D.

Holy water introduced 850 A.D.

Worship of Saint Joseph began 890 A.D.

Canonization of saints 993 A.D.

Feasts of the dead instituted 1003 A.D.

Celibacy of priesthood decreed 1074 A.D.

Doctrine of infallibility of Roman Catholic Church 1076 A.D.

Prayer beads invented 1090 A.D.

Doctrine that seven sacraments are taught 1140 A.D.

Origin of Inquisition 1184 A.D.

Sale of indulgences 1190 A.D.

Wafer substituted for bread in Lord's Supper 1200 A.D.

Transubstantiation adopted 1215 A.D.

Confession instituted 1215 A.D.

Adoration of the wafer (Host) 1220 A.D.

Hand bell used during mass 1227 A.D.

Cardinals ordered to wear red hats 1245 A.D.

The scapular invented 1287 A.D.

Sprinkling for immersion decreed 1311 A.D.

The procession of the Holy Sacrament 1336 A.D.

Communion in one kind; cup taken from laity 1415 A.D.

Purgatory decreed 1439 A.D.

Roman tradition placed on same level as Scriptures 1546 A.D.

Apocryphal books received into sacred canon 1546 A.D.

Immaculate Conception of Virgin Mary decreed 1854 A.D.

Doctrine of temporal power of Pope proclaimed 1864 A.D.

Infallibility of Pope decreed 1870 A.D.

Pius X's Encyclical on mixed marriages, condemning as null and void all marriages between two Catholic and non-Catholic if not celebrated by priest 1908 A.D.

The assumption of Mary i.e., she bodily ascended into Heaven without ever experiencing death 1950 A.D.

Downgrading of certain saints 1969 A.D.